Archive for May 4th, 2011

How Very Slytherin

That was a close one.

I took my Serpentine Mitts with me to Chick-fil-A last night to let Grace run around and get some exercise, and I got some knitting time. I still didn’t feel like dealing with Vellamo’s second sock, so I finished the cable pattern and got deep into the inch of 2×2 ribbing at the top.

This morning, I cast off the end of the mitt and I had less than 5 yards of yarn left. Lovely, except I still had a thumb to pick up and knit on. I was getting very worried. I don’t have a good sense yet for just how much yarn goes into an inch or two of any given project.

It was gut-wrenchingly close in my book. I ended the project with only about 3 yards of yarn left over. Too. Close. For. Knitting. Comfort.

So, details:
Pattern: Serpentine Mitts by Miriam Felton, in the medium 8 inch size.
Yarn: Zitron Noblesse (70% merino, 30% silk) in the green colorway (obviously)
Needles: 2.75 mm (US2)
Modifications: Noblesse is described as fingering weight, but it seems really heavy to me for fingering. I think it is more like a DK yarn. I went up a needle size. And I managed to get a few of my cable crosses backwards, but I don’t care because I was at least consistently backwards.

And that’s all the yarn I had left over. I both love it (as close to no waste as you can get!) and hate it (those were some nervous last rounds).

I love these so much and I am so glad to call them mine.

I am even more glad that I can say I actually finished something for the first time in a long while.