In Place of Real Content, I Offer You a Meme

I am trying to get my writing mojo back, and I have some topics I want to talk about, but as I gather my thoughts and sources, I want to get back into the habit of just writing something every day. So, to help the habit but without real content, I found a meme to work with.

With that, I offer you:
Ten Things You Probably Don’t Know About Me:

1. Until I worked on the 19th floor of a high rise building, I avoided elevators at all costs. They still make me nervous; particularly the rickety ones in older hotels. I prefer the stairs in those cases.

2. I was a vegetarian for a while in my late teens. To this day, I prefer to use products not tested on animals and I will not wear “status fur.” I value animal products though, and I have no difficulty with utilitarian animal products (leather, sinew, sheep skins, etc.) but I abhor the thought of wearing an animal’s pelt as a symbol of my wealth and social status. I also recognize the inherent hypocrisy in my anti-furs, pro-leather mindset, and no, I don’t really care.

3. The idea of drowning holds a special place of terror in my heart ever since I saw the movie The Abyss when I was a kid, and watched the scene where Lindsey allows herself to drown, hoping to be revived back on the rig. Watching the demise of the Andrea Gail in the movie The Perfect Storm was just the icing on the cake (the book version complete with the explicit description of how the body shuts down while drowning didn’t help, either). If I have to go out, any alternative is pretty much better than drowning in my book.

4. I had the highest batting average on my little league baseball team. I was also the only girl.

5. My parents instilled an appreciation of movie soundtracks and scores in me. It is a totally random talent of mine to be able distinguish between movie score composers on a regular basis. I owned more movie scores than regular music cds for a time.

6. I was a horse fanatic as a kid and even volunteered to muck out stalls for free at the local horse boarding stable as a kid, just for the chance to be in the stable. No one took me up on it.

7. I won first place in a business-related education competition in the mathematics and economics areas. I won 4th place overall when I went on to the state competitions, missing a chance to go to Denver to compete nationally.

8. I was driving back to college the day after my Grandfather’s funeral, listening to the radio, when the first plane hit the World Trade Center.

9. In the 8th grade, we were given “aptitude tests” to help us determine where our interests and skills lay for future careers. I tested out very strongly for agriculture and was horrified at the time that maybe I should be a farmer; I wanted to have an office job and work on computers. Now, all I dream about is having a little farm and working in the dirt, growing and raising my own food for my family. Irony!

10. After my Nana passed away and was cremated, we decided to put her ashes in the water off Grand View Island. I walked out on the big breakwater rocks to do the deed and promptly slipped, fell very hard, landed on my wrist and half in the water, and dumped Nana’s ashes all over the rocks and myself, but very few made it into the bay itself. Mom and I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry. My wrist still complains about that epic fail to this day.

Leave a Reply

