One Down

I want to thank everyone who has contributed to the Worlds Finest team and our efforts to raise money for the local Court Appointed Special Advocates (CASA) programs. Combined, between the donations made directly to the team and those that were made in Grace’s name, we have raised over $350!

The first of the April SCSC socks is done; I decided in the past day to make a major modification to the pattern. I decided to do a picot edged cuff. Until now, I have yet to knit a pair of socks yet that didn’t have a ribbed cuff, and while ribbed cuffs generally look nice and do a swell job in helping to hold up your socks, they just struck me as being far too dull to bring this flashy pair of socks to a close. This blog was vastly helpful in assisting me on choosing my binding off method.
Outside
And, because I have an appreciation for a view of the wrong-side of colorwork projects, I give you the inside:
Floats
In spite of all the attention I have been giving to the socks, my brain has been in a lace mood. I haven’t touched Freya since Wednesday, though I hope to give it some attention soon, but in the meantime, I have spent a lot of time looking at lace projects and shawls, and dreaming of future projects.

The Spring/Summer issue of Knitty debuted recently (this week I assume), and I fell pretty hard for Lilah in this issue. I like the idea of the two-toned shawl, but I don’t like the fact that the beautiful edgework becomes invisible with the transition from white to black. I will either knit it in a solid color, or dye it myself, ombré style.

I still fantasize about knitting Shipwreck again, but my list of shawls I want to knit is so long that it is hard to want to set aside the couple of months it would take to complete it, when I could be knitting something completely new to me. Here are just a few that I have been wanting to knit for a while.

Rona Lace: a stunning circular shawl I have been fantasizing about for years. Like Freya, it has no charts, which has kept me reluctant to just cast on and go for it.

Perlata Pitsigootti-huivi: there is an English translation for this gorgeous, Finnish shawl. It is a bottom up shawl, and casting on 404 stitches does make my heart flop around in my chest a bit, but when I am ready, I think it will be worth it.

Peacock Shawlette (Rav link): so I like peacocks, peacock motifs in lace, and the colors associated with peacocks. This one is also worked bottom up.

Cartouche: I LOVE this shawl. I love it that it looks heavy, warm, and exactly like something you would wrap up in on a chilly, early winter night, sitting outside. I love that it is lace and cables. I love that the difficulty level on it is going to be on the high side. I plan to knit this late this summer, maybe taking it to Pennsic to start it there. It certainly won’t be a “Two Week Pennsic Shawl” like Haruni was last year, but it would be nice to have it done in time to wear it once the weather cools down later this year.

When I have $20 to spare, I am going to buy Romi Hill’s Seven Small Shawls to Knit e-book. Tagyete, Caelano, and Asterope are my favorite shawls of the seven in the book.

So what’s on your queue to knit that you are itching to do these days?

Leave a Reply

