Speedwork

I am not sure I can express in words how much I love my April SCSC socks. Especially given just how much I disliked my March selection. I am about 4 more rounds from starting the heel of the first of the pair, which is simply incredible. Something about these socks is like working in Fast Forward.
Vellamo
Pattern: Vellamo (here’s a Rav link, too)
Yarn: KnitPicks Stroll in colorways Aurora Heather and Mustard
Needles: 2.75mm

Vellamo is the Finnish goddess of the sea. She is often depicted as a mermaid and let’s just say that Vellamo isn’t described in warm and fuzzy terms. I have decided I need to knit a second pair, for a very dear friend:

She’ll know.

In further knitting news:

Freya is coming along smoothly so far. I have taken up the challenge of knitting this without charts, and so far, so good. I do miss the visualizations provided by a chart, seeing how stitches stack up on top of one another, but it is good to keep up my written pattern skills this way too.

The early stages of a shawl are always so wonderful for your ego. One minute you are casting on, the next minute, you have completed a full lace motif, and this puppy is just flying along. You feel like your needles might start smoking you are knitting so fast.

This is intended by the Knitting Goddesses to not crush knitters under too much humility. Because if knitting the beginning of a shawl was like knitting the end of a shawl, we would all be wearing sweatshirts on somewhat chilly days, and the word “elegance” would never have been invented.

You know how it is when you get to the last 10 rows and each row takes an hour or more, and you swear you will never, ever, knit another shawl, and what in the name of Merino were you thinking casting on another shawl…

And that, my friends, is why the Gods of Knitting make the beginning of shawls so much fun and lightning quick. Otherwise, Knitters would never come worship at that particular altar, and we would all be doomed to knitting socks and washcloths, all the time.

Unless you only ever knit your shawls from the bottom up, in which case, I assume you also enjoy standing in line at DMV and being on hold with your telephone service provider.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by bdb on April 6, 2011 at 1:05 PM

    Er, you might want to update that blotter there…January? ahaha!

    Reply

    • Posted by laruse on April 6, 2011 at 1:11 PM

      Okay, Mr. KnowItAll:
      Calendar
      It just happened to be January 2012 you were looking at in that picture… :-D

  2. Posted by O on April 8, 2011 at 3:35 PM

    Will she know? Yay, more mermaids! I love the colors. I want to google Vellamo but evidently mermaids trigger the nudity content block on my work computer:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

