Freya

While I have a few minutes to catch my breath…

I am very busy with work and with Sapphire projects, but have started my April 2011 SCSC sock club socks. I will give you the details when I have more time and more brain cells to rub together. Suffice it to say they are green and yellow, colorwork, and so far, a few stripes in and a few rows of colorwork in, I can say I love the combination and I wish my Fair Isle skills were better. I am struggling with my stitches being too loose rather than the more typical trouble with them being too tight. I hope it will work out in blocking and that I will get better as I go along.

And following up with last night’s post, I think I have settled on knitting Freya (here’s the Ravelry link for Rav users). I spent a lot of time looking through my Ravelry Queue and my Favorites, and there are so many shawls I would like to knit out there, but I think Freya fits my mood. Since last Spring, I have knit Laminaria, Haruni, Travelling Woman, and Ishbel, so I have done my share of American-style semi-triangular modern shawlettes lately. Freya is very Old World in appearance; very traditional and very elegant. It is adapted from a Danish doily pattern, so it IS very Old World and very traditional, and that is just the sort of mood I am in.

What worries me is that the pattern is completely written out. No charts.

Now, very early on, as I was teaching myself to knit, I wouldn’t knit anything that wasn’t a fully written out pattern. Charts scared me to death. At least they did until I found my lace passion, at which point, I developed a serious aversion to written out patterns for anything more than short easy repetitive patterns (think scarves and socks). For me, lace and written patterns do not work well together. My eyes tend to glaze over and I have a tendency to get lost trying to count words (or knitting shorthand). Charts work for my brain. One box = one stitch. No problem. For whatever reason, 123 rows of written out instructions feels like I might as well be reading a familiar book in Spanish — I see the letters, they look familiar, I even sort of understand the gist, but miss out the details.

So do I just tackle the pattern, as written, and be patient with myself and adapt and grow as a Knitter, or do I attempt to create a chart of my own (sans charting software)?

The second question I have is should I investigate a special edging for it? I see a lot of other knitters have put an edging of their own devising on it, and I love almost every one of them. How do I choose one? Going to need to look at some lace pattern books to see if I can find an edging I like.

I can’t wait to cast on.

Leave a Reply

