The Sound of Silence

The past few weeks have been very heavy weeks. I broke my Post Per Week goal last week, but I had noticed that the flow of words was drying up in the previous weeks. It was hard to know what to say in the face of Japan’s triple disasters, war in Libya, the Middle East and North Africa erupting into turmoil and violence, and the very quickly rising costs of fuel and food at home. Then, we lost not just one but two bulwarks of the Society. I have been hip-deep in working out the details of Sapphire Joust XII, as well.

Like every spring, knitting takes a back seat to the SCA, my garden, my actual job, and other random things. I am still plugging away at my March SCSC2011 socks. Thankfully, one is off the needles, but I cast it off on March 11, eleven days ago, and I haven’t even reached the heel of the second sock yet. Like I said at the beginning of the month, I had a bad feeling about this pair, and whether it is a self-fulfilling prophecy or not, they might not get finished by April 1.

I do have a question, and I would appreciate any advice/thoughts any of you might have on this. I have some nice running gear; specifically a nice Underarmour-type long sleeved shirt, some nice runner’s tights, and then a myriad of other less-fancy gear, but much of which has the same moisture-wicking qualities woven into it. I like this stuff and I want it to last, but contrary to the popular myth, girls do sweat, and this girl tends to sweat a lot. And with my propensity for wearing a hippie-type of deodorant, I tend to *ahem* stink up my gear. I have noticed that just washing my stuff does not completely dispel the funk. Ordinary Febreeze after washing did “perfume” everything up really only hiding the smell, but I am highly sensitive to perfumes and see the above comment about hippie-deodorant; it’s just not how I roll. I know there are “sports detergents” out there with special enzymes in them designed to help fight the funk and also to help make your special Dri-Fit/Underarmour/high-tech (read: expensive) fabrics last longer. What I want to know is has anyone tried one of them? Did it work? How much did it cost and where did you get it? I am willing to try it if it will make my gear last longer, since that stuff can be expensive to replace (unless I am lucky enough to get it on clearance or lightly worn from the thrift store), but not if the general consensus is that it is just a gimmick.

There has not been a whole lot else to report. I am learning to cook new-to-me cuts of beef since we went in with 4 other families and purchased a whole butchered cow. I made braised short ribs last night, which were quite tasty, but not something I have ever eaten in my life, so it was difficult to know what I was doing, having no context for how they are generally cooked and eaten. I did a London Broil-style flank steak two weekends ago; I was sincerely surprised to learn that London Broil is NOT a cut of meat but a method of cooking. Each week, I am trying a new cut. I think next week we will try the sirloin tip roast; any suggestions?

I keep thinking I should write something more profound. I have lots on my mind, but none of it is really relevant or anything more than unhappy speculation, which I tend to save for putting pen to paper. So that’s all I have for now. I hope to get back to at least one post per week. The Daily Post topic suggestions from WordPress are pretty uninspiring, so if you have a topic suggestion, leave me a comment and help my brain become de-tongue tied.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kitty on March 22, 2011 at 4:54 PM

    I got a couple of samples of Penguin Sport Wash from a race swag bag a couple of years ago and I really liked how it worked. I’ve been too lazy to buy any because I sort of stopped running right afterwards, but it did remove the odor. I funk up my dri-wick clothes pretty badly and am not too shy to admit it. Maybe Dicks might carry it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

