A River Walk

We had some serious rain over the weekend in the region, which has translated into minor James River flooding. I decided to take a short hike down to the “wrong side” of the Richmond flood wall, which is to say, outside of those protective concrete boundaries, to get a better view of just what is going on with the River that Runs Through It.
Photobucket
The Christopher Newport Cross
Photobucket
The Pipeline Overlook Warning Signs (in case you thought walking over a 4 foot wide walkway that was under rushing water was a good idea).
Photobucket
One of two Great Blue Herons who were fishing for their lunches.
Photobucket
They were relatively unimpressed with me, even if I was thrilled to get within 20 feet of them. Blue herons are some of my favorite types of birds. They really remind me of growing up in the Tidewater of Virginia, in between the marshes and beaches of Hampton. I have always thought they were incredibly elegant and I love their coloring. It made me really happy to get this close to them today.
Photobucket
Walking on the pipe. It is literally only (comfortably) a one-person-wide walkway, and several times I had to sidle sideways to pass other people. I forgot that to get to the walkway, you have to go down some steps, then climb a ladder. This is best done in tennis shoes. I have chunky 3-inch high heeled, calf-high boots on today. It was an adventure. Anything for a good photo.
Photobucket
The River was quite energetic. And muddy.
Photobucket
A pretty gull of some type or another. I have always thought of sea gulls as winged rats, but I liked this one’s coloring. He had a surprising wingspan of probably nearly 4 feet which he displayed when I came a little too close to him.
Photobucket
I am on the Riverside of the floodwall. That is the symbol of the Army Corps of Engineers, but a few SCAdians I know will see it completely differently.
Photobucket
Railroads abound in this area. I actually have to walk over them to get back to the city side of the floodwall. If I hadn’t seen Stand By Me at an impressionable age, this wouldn’t even be noteworthy enough to mention.
Photobucket
Speaking of trains, I don’t know what is the deal with the vintage looking rail cars sitting there, but they certainly were pretty.
Photobucket
A pretty view of the Turning Basin I rarely get, since I am usually walking along the Basin rather than passing over it. It made for a very pretty and well-spent lunch, and I am glad I ventured out onto the River.
Photobucket
(This one is just so we don’t forget this really is generally a knitting blog.)

Leave a Reply

