Out of Focus

As we drove northeast on Beulah Road this morning, I noticed some of the trees along the street had those tell-tale red buds already showing. It occurred to me that it is March 1st, my unofficial first day of Spring. The Lenten Roses (hellebores) have started blooming, and even though they are running late this year, the daffodils are not far behind.

I am feeling somewhat restive, a funny word that means the opposite of what it sounds like it would. Anxious, impatient, barely under control. I blame a combination of Spring Fever, startitis, and the lingering pain and associated painkillers from the latest dental disaster. There are a thousand things I would like to be doing, and none of them require being in Downtown Richmond, ten floors above street level.

Playing with Grace. Sleeping. Knitting. Gardening. Sewing. Cleaning. Anything aside from proof-reading, editing, typing, e-mailing, and processing official Virginia business. I have to pay the bills, of course, but this is the time of year when I genuinely wish I did something else that paid the bills.

I have a little confession: I cast on the March socks a little early. You could say I cheated, but when April 1st rolls around and they aren’t done (I have a bad feeling about this pair), you will understand, right? I have also cast on the Second Not Noro Noro Scarf. And I cast on a pair of fingerless gloves. Diagnosis is of course “startitis.” A knitter’s intense desire to start anything that floats across her knitterly brain, but no strong drive to finish anything.

Never mind that I have a hat that just needs earflaps and a pompom. Or the sweater that is half finished. Or the sweater that needs a sleeve and a collar. Or the scarf that is half finished. Or . . . the list could go on and on. And I want to finish all that stuff, too, but I want to knit all this cool new stuff.

And I want to write.

And I want a new linen dress for SCA purposes.

And I want my garden to get going.

And I want to sleep. A lot.

The point is, I am highly unfocused, just like this blog post. I cannot even finish a sentence before I am on to something else. Forget a whole paragraph.

Anyway, so the March socks.
Charade
Pattern: Charade (Rav link, sorry. The creator’s blog seems to be gone.)
Yarn: Knit Picks Stroll – Colorway: Shoreline Twist (discontinued)
Needles: 2.25mm (US1) (sort of, I am missing a needle, so there is a US0 in there too)

I am not terribly excited about the socks, as much as I could not resist casting them on a day early. I dislike the colors more than I thought I would. The brown and blue twisted yarn sounded good in theory, but I am not thrilled with the result. And then there is just the “barely together” aspect of this whole project. I am missing a needle. The yarn is discontinued. I don’t even love the pattern like I thought I would. The detail in the pattern comes from a single slipped and passed over stitch ever 4 stitches, every two rows and I find passing slipped stitches over that frequently to be somewhat tedious. Everything about these socks already feels like “meh” and I have only knit about 3 inches so far.

I hadn’t realized what I was getting myself into when I picked this pattern randomly for a masculine looking sock for the 2011 Sock Club. So, chances are good I am going to need every one of the 32 days I have allowed myself to slog through the socks. At least they aren’t intended for a huge pair of feet. These are my father-in-law’s Christmas socks, and I am grateful he has relatively dainty feet. The scary part is that I am actually knitting for Christmas and it is March 1st.

I am not sure whether it is scarier that I am planning ahead this far or that I am actually having to consider whether 10 months is enough time to get all my knitting done for Christmas.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Carol New on March 1, 2011 at 12:10 PM

    I have some nice masculine grey/brown yarn. Wanna trade?

    Reply

    • Posted by laruse on March 1, 2011 at 8:31 PM

      After knitting on it for about 90 minutes tonight, I have decided to keep going. Thanks for the offer but I am, at this point, going to try and press on and see if it works out in the end.

Leave a Reply

