Tangled Up In…

So now I’m going back again
I got to get her somehow
All the people we used to know
They’re an illusion to me now
Some are mathematicians
Some are carpenter’s wives
Don’t know how it all got started
I don’t what they’re doing with their lives
But me I’m still on the road
Heading for another joint
We always did feel the same
We just saw it from a different point of view
Tangled up in Blue.

Bob Dylan
FLS
(Byram should probably stop reading now or that eye twitch he sometimes gets when I talk about potential new projects could become permanent.)

You know how you get an idea in your head sometimes and it grows and develops into something you can’t really control? You know how an idea can go from a passing thought to an obsession? Even when it is a bad idea and you know it to be? I’ve got one of those ideas. Not a new idea, just an obsessive thought that wants to manifest itself in the form of wool and lace.

It’s trouble and I know it to be so, because I’ve done it before.

This time, I am thinking…
Photo by KnitPicks!
And some of these…
Photo by Fire Mountain Gems

Why? Because…

  • I can.
  • I am a better knitter now. I could do a better job at it.
  • When I first planned to knit it, I wanted to do it in blue with green beads. I had a strange change of heart when I actually ordered the yarn.
  • I want it.
  • I can.
  • It was worthy of reknitting.
  • I want it.


I am cutting in photos of my February Lady Sweater so that you know I have picked up an abandoned project, and that my inherent blue illness has not passed yet. (I think Ishbel offered a reprieve, though.)

I can’t stop thinking about Shipwreck. I think it has something to do with Spring (and Startitis).

So, what would you do? Would you invite trouble to cure an obsessive thought? Would you try and direct that obsession into another pattern, and risk still being obsessed with the original when it’s over?

I am leaning towards giving in and knitting that monster all over again.

(Byram’s eye is twitching. I know because I know these things.)

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by bdb on February 16, 2011 at 3:11 PM

    It’s more like a wry smile. I really would like ear flaps on my hat before it gets too warm to wear it… :-)

    Reply

  2. Do it!!! I still want to knit it too but I’m not yet brave enough.

    Reply

  3. I read Startitis as Startits at first and was real puzzled for a second!

    I think if you are this obsessed, doing it is the only cure:)

    Reply

  4. Posted by Teri Pittman on April 27, 2011 at 12:57 PM

    You should do it. I really hate the beads and I would have finished it long ago without them. (The beads have holes that are just too small, among other things). It’s fairly easy knitting with lots of terribly boring edging. I really would like to finish mine this year.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

