Laid Low

Not much content here. I was laid low this week by a raging sinus and ear infection that went from being bad to out of control in 24 hours, in spite of the largest antibiotics I have ever been on, and an albuterol inhaler. I was too sick to even knit very much until last night. All I could do was read a fluffy historical fiction book, cover to cover. (The Heretic Queen, by Michelle Moran, in case you are looking for something fluffy and entertaining yourself some day. I recommend it, but you need to read Nerfertiti: A Novel first.)

After sleeping most of the day yesterday, I was able to stay up a little late and felt well enough to knit. Surprisingly, I had the mental energy to work on Ishbel.
Ishbel
I have chosen to add beads to make the Vine Lace pattern much more visible since the Kidsilk Haze does not really lend itself to stitch definition. Further, the beads will add some weight to what will otherwise be a featherweight scarf, and should help keep it from drifting in the slightest breeze.
Beads
Finally, I added beads because they are just darn pretty. I am doing section B now, and intend to keep it a small size, so A, B, A,C, D, E (for those Ishbel knitters out there who know what I am talking about). Any leftover Kidsilk Haze might contribute to an Ishbel Beret, but only if I have a good yarn to do it “held together” with. A hat would need a little more body than the Kidsilk alone can give.

I am still obsessively knitting my Faux-oro Scarf (I pronounce it ‘fore-o’.) I have a confession. I don’t like Noro yarns; they are too expensive, too itchy, too “artsy” (which is a polite way of saying they are full of vegetable matter), and sometimes, the colors are just too odd. But I like this yarn. It cost half the price of a ball of Noro. The colors are nice. The texture is good. The gauge can get a little thicky-thin, but it is only a slight change, and nothing dramatic. I don’t mind that it is mostly acrylic because that means I can gift it to the person I have in mind and say “Sure, throw it in the wash; just don’t throw it in the dryer!” and even if she does, it will probably be okay.
Scarf
It is just now starting to shift from blues, purples, and pinks, to greens and blues.
Photobucket
I never expected to be quite so helpless in the face of a simple 1×1 ribbed scarf; I thought I would be bored, I thought the stripes would even bother me after a while. No. I keep working on it, fantasizing about going back to Holly Springs and getting two more balls for another scarf.

But wouldn’t you?
Pretty

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kitty on January 30, 2011 at 7:21 PM

    I was wondering which cast on you use for your toe-up socks. I tried Judy’s Magic Cast-On and didn’t like the result.

    Reply

    • Posted by laruse on January 31, 2011 at 8:13 AM

      I use Judy’s Magic Cast on. I like it, but it has taken me a lot of practice to make sure the stitches are all even.

  2. Posted by Kitty on January 31, 2011 at 8:37 PM

    Shoot. Looks like I need to either invest in some size 2 cable needles or go back to the provisional cast on. Thanks!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

