“Thank God That’s Over”

It is easy, when knitting, to get lost in the motion of knit, purl, repeat. You don’t focus on each stitch. There are simply too many. In fact, one of the benefits of knitting I find is the ability to knit while on “autopilot.” Particularly if you are knitting stockinette in the round or garter on straight needles, you can knit without thought. For me, this is a way to wipe my mental slate clean, and a wonderful thing about knitting.

But even if you are focusing on your knitting because maybe you have an intricate pattern or you are having to count stitches for a particular reason (short rows, entrelac, whatever), you probably aren’t paying my attention to the yarn. I mean, you probably chose it because it was a beautiful color, a lovely feel, or a combination thereof, but, while you are in the midst of the act of knitting, you probably aren’t paying a lot of attention those fibers as they slide between your fingers.

I am knitting with Rowan Kidsilk Haze, colorway is Flower, though I think of it as Cotton Candy, both in color and in appearance. While it may look like cotton candy, though, it is a thousand times softer than its look-alike. As I unwind the yarn from the ball (no center pull ball for this yarn!) the yarn floats back down to earth into gentle loops. It caresses my fingers and the back of my hand as I work without being irritatingly ticklish. It is difficult to keep the stitches even, though I am giving it my best and hoping the worst of it evens out with blocking. It is very, very slow knitting, and I am working in stockinette stitch, with some yarn over increases in the usual places right now for a typical American-style triangular shawl. But this yarn is fine, precious, and rare, so I am trying to appreciate the slowness; I am taking the time to admire that tiny and delicate two-ply of pink silk at the core of the downy soft kid mohair haze.

Knitting this Ishbel shawl with the Kidsilk Haze reminds me of this very brief, torrid little romance I had when I was in high school. I knew from the get-go it was trouble. Beautiful, fine, rare, precious, sexy, and sweet, but right from the beginning, I knew the undercurrent of crazy was too strong, and that it would only end in tears and a sense of “I’m glad I did it, but thank God that’s over.” That is exactly how I feel about this Kidsilk Haze. Rare, precious, and beautiful, but like that torrid love affair, I see the insanity coming and probably a similar end. We are still in the early stages of the romance, but I’ve seen it before. I know how this goes. It doesn’t mean it isn’t worth going through. The inherent craziness of the mohair doesn’t mean it isn’t worth attempting. It just means I am going to enjoy the ride for what it is and never expect more than what it can be.

Simply a brief, torrid love affair almost certain to end precisely as that one did some 13 years ago.

Well, that was fun. Thank God that’s over.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kitty on January 12, 2011 at 7:22 PM

    I so get what you are saying. I love the way you write.

    Reply

  2. Posted by bdb on January 13, 2011 at 10:10 AM

    @ Kitty: You were into girls too?!? Cool!

    ;-)

    Mwahahahah!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

