Thoughts of the Somewhat Sleep Deprived

I probably ought to have a rule against posting while exhausted. I have no idea where this post is headed, and aimlessly typing (or rather, publishing said aimless typing) is dangerous. You see, I went to bed before 8 o’clock last night, and my wakeup call came shortly before 2 a.m., and now, 9 hours later, I feel like my day should be winding down, rather than starting up. Add several large cups (which is to say 10 cups of a 12 cup pot) of coffee on an empty stomach, and now I have that jittery, hyper-caffeinated sensation rolling down my shoulders and into my fingers. I should probably step away from the keyboard but I have some knitting to show you.

First, a sock. It’s mate is about half way finished. (And I apologize for the miserable picture. I can get no natural light this morning, and the flash left it scary looking.)
Photobucket
Yarn- Paton’s Kroy FX, colorway Clover
Needles- 3mm
Pattern- None in particular. A toe up sock that I 1ncorporated a little 1×1 rib into running along the pinky toe of each sock, then a 1×1 ribbed leg. The beauty of toe up socks is that with a “1 ball 1 sock” sock yarn, you can just keep knitting until you run out of yarn. No waste. Which is what I have done; there is something luxurious about mid-calf high handknit socks.

This pair is a Christmas gift for my Mom, who has already seen them so if she hops on the blog, I am not ruining any real surprises here. I really needed her to try it on to make sure it fit. She has rheumatoid arthritis and the disease has wrought damage on her joints, particularly her ankles, so a good fit is really key.

The next item is not a recently finished item. In fact, I finished this way back in February, but because I was fairly displeased with the result at the time, I never bothered to photograph or even wear it. Heck, I didn’t even announce its completion on Ravelry.

I give you the Impressionist Cowl.
Photobucket
Yarn – Malabrigo Worsted, colorway Plena
Needles – 5.5mm

So, about this cowl. First, I love the stitch pattern on the neck. I really love how that turned out. I loved that this cowl was supposed to flare around the shoulders, too. Except one problem. I used the recommended I-cord cast off, which is very pretty, but does not stretch, even as loosely as I cast off, and I felt it prevented the collar from properly flaring out. I am still, months later, contemplating ripping back the I-cord and using the stretchy cast off I use on socks as it will flare naturally. Further, I think the neck pattern was too long. I would knit a shorter neck pattern if I did it again.

As unhappy as I was with it in the beginning, I have mellowed about it, and am even wearing it at work today as an accessory. (And cue another lousy picture.)
Photobucket
I thought it went nicely with my purple sweater and it’s always fun to wear something I knit to work.

Pretty soon here, since I have located the missing needle, I am going to get back to knitting on my Sienna Cardigan. I am feeling pretty motivated to finally finish it, though I am very concerned that now it will be too big for me. I did start it in January, back when I was a 3X, intending to be able to wear it as a size large. I may have missed the window, but an oversized cardigan can work. Sometimes. We’ll see. For now, I am setting my sights on knitting Eileen from Knitty’s Deep Fall issue. I have the yarn picked out – I want Knit Picks Wool of the Andes in Winter Night. I will probably order the yarn in January after my birthday.

But Sienna has to be done first. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.
(For now.)

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by KnitterInPink on December 3, 2010 at 12:21 PM

    Wow! LOVE the cowl and the colors! Thanks for posting the info on that yarn. I’m going to have to seek some of that out!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

