Skills To Pass On

Skills I want to remember to teach my daughter:

I mean, aside from the obvious stuff, like how read, how to boil water, how to knit, how to drive, and all that stuff, my husband and I made a little game of thinking of practical little skills we want to remember to pass on to Grace that fall outside the normal everyday lessons kids get from their parents. So here is my list. What do you want to remember to teach your kids?

-how to check her dipstick, transmission fluid, and tire pressure, and how to change an air filter and add power steering fluid
-how to hem a pair of pants and reattach a button
-how to operate a keg and how to properly pour a beer (and respect for the power and use of alcohol in general, and no, I won’t promise to wait until she’s 21 and out from under my sphere of influence and observation)
-how to open a tightly sealed jar (without asking the nearest male)
-how to start and maintain an outdoor fire, and how to create different types of fire for different purposes (cooking, light, heat, melting beer bottles at Pennsic; you know, the usual stuff)
-how to identify poison ivy, poisonous snakes, fire ants and other easily avoided natural hazards
-how to debone a chicken breast

That’s just the stuff that comes to mind at the moment. I expect this list will grow over the years. I am not even scratching at the list of values and mores I want to share with her, though I cannot and would not insist that she be forced to accept and live by them all in her adulthood. Then there is a huge list of things I would like for her to learn that I cannot or do not know how to pass on to her. Things like knowing how to travel internationally, how to play an instrument, or how to drive a stick. Part of my job as her parent is providing opportunities for her to learn beyond the little knowledge held just in our little household.

It’s a big job, being a parent.
Photobucket

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Kitty on December 3, 2010 at 9:21 AM

    Ones I plan to teach my kids (since my parents never taught me):
    How to balance a budget
    How to balance a checkbook
    How to manage your savings
    Retirement planning
    Responsible credit usage

    Reply

  2. Posted by Maggie on December 3, 2010 at 10:41 PM

    Some of the same (things my parents never taught me either, but I’ve learned over the years):

    How to balance a checkbook
    How to create a budget
    How to live within your means
    How to change a tire
    How to be frugal

    Reply

Leave a Reply

