Spellbound

I am so deeply tickled with my Traveling Woman that I just don’t have the words to express my deep sense of satisfaction.
Photobucket
Look at that color.
Photobucket
Yarn is Dream in Color Smooshy, colorway Happy Forest. Gifted to me by the lovely Kitty.
Photobucket
(I know it’s a badly taken photo and was almost deleted, but I was so impressed with the colors in the photo; my blue sweater, the green scarf, and my red hair just worked.)
Photobucket
Since her name is Traveling Woman, she and I needed to go on a walk-about. This was inside the James Center.
Photobucket
She met one of Rudolph’s teammates; let’s figure it was Comet. I was painstakingly careful not to look directly into the noses of any other reindeer at the James Center, lest I blow the surprise of finding Rudolph with my family sometime after the Grand Illumination Ceremony this Friday.
Photobucket
I wanted to take photos of the scarf by the River, but it is so windy, I kept having little visions of the Traveling Woman being blown into the river and really traveling. So our travels were limited to the Shockoe Slip area.
Photobucket
This is the banister outside the Tobacco Company. I really miss their Sunday Brunches, which fell victim to the Great Recession.
Photobucket
Of course, we had to visit my favorite spot and show off a bit.
Photobucket
I didn’t have the courage to ask if I could take photos of the scarf draped over the espresso machine…I can only take the Crazy Knitting Lady thing so far with people I see on a regular basis.

I keep telling myself that it is only 24 days to Christmas and that Traveling Woman really probably needs to go under the Christmas tree, but I am totally absorbed with her. Completely spellbound by her. Utterly undone by her. I am in love with this green dream of wool. The elegance of the Horseshoe lace gives me a little frisson whenever I look at it. The simplicity of the stockinette stitch gives me tingles. How can such a little thing have me so completely entranced?

4 responses to this post.

  1. Kim, I am in awe of your knitting skillz. That is simply beautiful.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kitty on December 1, 2010 at 9:23 PM

    So glad my small gift gave you so much happiness. The pictures are lovely!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Charlotte Marie Grubb on December 2, 2010 at 6:48 PM

    Where can I find the pattern for that beautiful shawl.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

