Meet Haruni

Here she is. In all her lacy, Pennsic knitting glory. I give you, Haruni.
Photobucket
Pattern: Haruni (Ravelry Link)
Yarn: Knit Picks Palette in Iris Heather (2 skeins, 462 yards)
Needles: 3.75mm straights but I had to switch to a circular by Chart B.

I love this shawl. No really, I love this shawl. It was a big stressor to begin with. There were constant reports on Ravelry of people running out of yarn at the very end. When I ordered my yarn at the beginning of the year, the pattern was new enough that such problems had not surfaced yet, so I just ordered the two balls the pattern required, and it went into the stash. It was not until right before Pennsic when I re-read the page that I saw the designer had upped the yarn requirements in response to people running out of yarn; she upped the requirement to 20 yards more than I had.

To add to my stress, I had originally planned to knit this shawl on 3.75mm needles instead of the 3.5 mm needles recommended by the pattern. Why? Because I am a tight knitter. Really tight. I generally have to go up a needle size in most patterns because I knit so tightly. So, you would assume that between realizing the yarn I had might not be enough as the pattern was written, and the added yarn that would be used by going up a needle size, that I would alter my plans and drop back to a 3.5mm needle to play it safe, right?

Not me. I played the knitter’s version of Russian Roulette. I ordered this yarn 8 months ago. There was no way on earth I could get any more yarn in this exact dye lot, so it was do or die. I knew I would either suffer epic defeat or come out with the knitting goddesses smiling on me. I cast-on on 3.75 mm needles and made sure I kept my typically tight gauge. When I got to the last purl row before the crochet cast-off, I was sweating it; there was not at ton of yarn left in my lap and I didn’t know how much would be used up in the cast-off. I even gave serious consideration to skipping that last purl row and casting off on the last knitted row of the pattern. But I pulled up my big girl panties and went for it. This whole shawl had been do or die from the get-go, and I finished the last purl row, crocheted myself into a cast-off, and viola, was left with a bit of yarn left over.
Haruni
It is beautiful and I don’t mind saying so. I will not be humble about this. I made this. Every last stitch was my effort and I am proud to say I have the skills to work such beauty. It will be a Christmas gift for Anna-Jean, my mother in law, who I hope will find it beautiful as well.

So even though I was not at Pennsic long enough to be in tons of pictures, I did make it into a few, and the first picture I saw of myself actually startled me. Let me demonstrate to you why, as I post a picture taken of me at Pennsic 2009, next to the one taken on Sunday, August 8th.
Melisent in 2009
Melisent in 2010
The picture from 2009, where I am wearing the pink Roman garb, horrified me last year. I was already in the throes of contemplating gastric bypass, but that picture was so shocking and upsetting to me that it helped solidify my decision. I mean, I knew I was big. I knew at that Pennsic that moving around had gotten painful and challenging. I knew I was barely able to armour up, and I only made it into one battle last year because my armour fit so poorly and my endurance was such that walking from our camp to our dayshade exhausted me. I just had not seen through the lense of a camera just how awful I really looked. I was so ashamed of what I had become and that photo brought me to tears.

I am sure my campmates grew sick of hearing about it this year, but I kept thanking God I had gone through with my surgery at Pennsic this year. I was able to be active, I was able to work very hard, and I was able to roam around Pennsic, walk back up the hill to camp, and then back down the hill and back around Pennsic as much as I desired too. I was not limited by my horribly painful feet and ankles. I was not winded walking up the slopes. I didn’t leave the war feeling over-taxed and injured (though I am having a problem with my back).

I came home and weighed in 7 pounds less than when I had left for Pennsic, at a nice 171 pounds. I was probably about 270 last Pennsic. Officially, I am 3 pounds from having lost 100 pounds total. I feel so incredibly blessed to have had this opportunity and I really feel like I have been given my life back.

Gastric bypass is not for everyone; it is a challenge and it is life altering, both in good and bad ways. I am so very very thankful that it was for me and that I have had such success thus far.

Next up: it’s time to rebuild my armour and get back into it.
Photobucket

One response to this post.

  1. You and the shawl are beautiful and you should be proud of both!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

