Mountains

Lent is petering out. Thursday begins the solemnity of the Triduum, the three holy days leading up to Easter Sunday. Spring is in full swing here in central Virginia, and it has been a welcomed change. It was a long, dark winter, which has made the past six weeks that have rung in Spring that much more precious.

Mom and I plan to hit the Great Big Greenhouse this week for a look-see (that is a technical term, of course), and possibly, if they have some good stock, to bring home some vegetable starts. Since our last frost date is still 2 weeks away, it might be too early, but I have noticed in the past 5 years or so, our last frost date is in reality more like April 1 than April 15. Climate change, global warming, or just good luck, I don’t pretend to know, but I like being able to start earlier.

On Sunday, I cleared out an area of the back yard that has lived for at least six years completely natural. Covered in vines, we do not mow it, rake it, or do anything with it. Since the neighbors on the east cleared all their trees, it is now the one sunny spot in the back yard we do not use to park cars on, so I realized the dream of creating a small garden plot back there. It is very small; a mere 8×10, but in clearing that spot, I essentially doubled my current gardening space. I hope to dedicate that space to a few summer squashes, a couple of cucumbers, and a few winter squashes. That way, I will have room for more tomatoes, peppers, and peas in the raised beds on the side of the house.

I think the new bed will do well. The first 3 or 4 inches of the dirt was wonderful, black and beautiful humus thanks to the years of being untended. If it does get enough sun and produces well, then next year, I might expand it into an ‘L’ shape around the side of the shed back there.

Saturday, we drove west for a friend’s baby shower. Now, being a Chesapeake Bay girl at heart, with salt water in my veins, the mountains have always been a source of mystery and fascination for me. I could not resist trying to snap pictures of the scenery as we flew by at 70 mph.

That is Afton Mountain. You have to pass through Rockfish Gap and go “over” Afton Mountain (the Gap actually more or less skirts the mountain) to get to Waynesboro, which was essentially our destination. It is a beautiful view.

On the way back, we pulled into the scenic pull-over and to get a look at the valley. There was a bit of haze that kept it from being a perfect view.

Since I had it with me, I brought Laminaria, now properly dressed, out for a few shots.

I could not see my view-finder very well in the bright sun, so I could not tell how blurry the image was. Sorry.

I modeled it briefly as well, but the pictures did not come out very well either.

Then I got Grace and her Daddy to pose for me. There are some large boulders there at the pull-off and Grace was sure she was climbing a mountain when she climbed up on the boulders.
Photobucket
We were all impressed with the view, but I think Grace was most impressed.

So that’s all the news that is fit to print. It is Holy Week. Spring is here. We even have some very warm days coming this week (mid-80s!). I may not write the rest of the week, especially during the Triduum, but you never know. Last year, I was quite inspired and if words worthy of print come to mind, then you will be the first to see them.

Otherwise, enjoy your week, have a blessed Passover, and Happy Easter.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Kitty on April 6, 2010 at 3:15 PM

    I always love your picture posts. Grace is adorable!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

