Laminaria

Last Sunday, sniffling, lying in my hammock, reading “Knitted Lace of Estonia,” I was inspired to pick back up my Laminaria shawlette, which is, after all, a shawl inspired by Estonian stitches.
Photobucket
I sat on my back porch, gathered all of my close by projects to me, and sat in the warm sun, soaking in the Vitamin D and inspiration.

When I started, I had this:
Photobucket
This afternoon, I began finally casting off.
Photobucket
It doesn’t look like much, and indeed, it is just a baby of a shawl.
Photobucket
The Zephyr yarn is to die for. It feels heavenly.
Photobucket
I wish I had knit it on slightly larger needles. I used 3.5mm needles as called for by the pattern, but I know I am at tight knitter, and should have gone up to 3.75 needles to be closer to the size the pattern called for. A swatch would have proven the point, and I wouldn’t be left with probably 200 yards of this gorgeous green yarn. I foresee a really skinny lace scarf in my future to use up the remains of this ball.

Tonight, we dress. No naked lace!
Photobucket

One response to this post.

  1. Beautiful!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

