Lost and Found

As my poor husband has pointed out, it has been over a month since I updated. I am sorry.

It has been very hard to write in recent weeks between all of the Christmas knitting I was doing, and because my mind has been very far away.

2009 was such a crummy year on so many levels. So much death, so many money troubles, so much worry, stress, and health issues.

For all of that, my life is very good. I am incredibly blessed. We had a lovely Thanksgiving since you last heard from me. I woke up early that morning to see a sunrise that looked like fire in the sky.
Photobucket

I did a LOT of knitting in December. Sadly, I have almost no photos of all the things I knit. There have been 3 pairs of finished socks, one finished sock, one cast on, and another about to be cast on.
Photobucket
There were 4 different scarves (here is an entrelac scarf in Lion Brands new Amazing yarn, which I found to be more soft than Noro and at least half the price).
Photobucket
I cast on another lace shawl. We held an SCA event. We shopped, cooked, cleaned, decorated, ate, celebrated, and enjoyed the company of friends and family and one another.
Photobucket
(Don’t you just love the tacky green rope lights?!)
We even got some snow.
Photobucket
My first ever White Christmas.
Photobucket
Grace’s too.
Photobucket
That is about 5 inches of snow in the back of my truck, which was parked under a tree. I think we had upwards of 7 inches total.

It was truly a beautiful and merry Christmas.
Photobucket

I got to enjoy several days off from work, and spend a great deal of much needed time with the people I love most. I will always be grateful for these days because the coming weeks and months are going to be a time of tremendous upheaval and stress in the Moore house.

You see, back in September, I mentioned that I was considering gastric bypass. I began the process in October, and on the same day that my co-worker committed suicide in early November, my surgery date was scheduled.

That was a lot to take in at one time, so I had to work through that grief before I could begin mentally processing my surgery. By then, it was Thanksgiving, and my thoughts were bent on knitting and eating to my hearts desire. And so I did.

Now today, on the 11th Day of Christmas, I am finding the courage to talk about what is going on. I will undergo laproscopic gastric bypass surgery on January 14, 2010, in only 9 days. I began my special pre-operative diet on Friday, and am working through that now. I had all my preadmission testing done last Wednesday, saw the nurse practioner for one more once-over yesterday, and now, I am just counting the days, living in a limbo between excitement and terror, fear of failure and thrilled with the possibilities.

I am excited, of course, but scared. The threat of dying is always there, how ever small the chance is. I do not want to leave my family without a wife, mother, daughter, and sister. I try not to focus on that risk; I know it, I am not ignoring it, but thinking on it is not productive. I am focusing on changing my habits, behaviors, and how I think about food.

Life is changing, hopefully for the better. I hope to be able to bring you years of knitting pictures to come. If I don’t get around to posting again, please keep me and my family in your prayers. If necessary, my husband can post an update here in the event that I am unable to. Let’s hope that is not the case.

2 responses to this post.

  1. My mom is in the same process, for the same surgery, although hers is not as soon as yours. You will certainly be in my thoughts, and I’m looking forward to seeing your results – knitting and otherwise.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Iseulte on January 7, 2010 at 12:20 AM

    You and your family are always in my thoughts and prayers. It was lovely spending time with you and getting my knit on at your place New Year’s eve. I look forward to the next time, and by then, maybe I will be able to knit as fast as you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

