Finding My Voice

I have been struggling to find my voice for the past month, as any regular visitors here might have noticed.

This year has been a very difficult one: too many untimely deaths, too many illnesses, too much darkness, not nearly enough money.

Combining the trauma of the bus accident with surprising loss of Kitty Sexton, known in the SCA as Kolfinna sent me pretty deep into a funk. That was the straw that sent me over the pharmaceutical edge and for the first time in over a year, I went back on Wellbutrin. This turned out to be an excellent thing to do since in the weeks to follow, Byram took a 20% pay cut in the form of a one day per week furlough, scary news that something could be wrong after an ultrasound test he underwent in September showed some abnormalities, and then this week, my office lost a colleague and friend, unexpectedly. You know what “suddenly” or “unexpectedly’ is often code-speak for in obituaries.

I am coping with all of this now through knitting, spinning, exercising, and the aforementioned Wellbutrin. There are bits of good news in all of this. Byram’s tests came back negative and he is hale and whole. His pay cut is hoped to only last through the holidays. I have lost 15 pounds in the past month. My family is more budget focused than we have been.

Those are good things.

So is this:
Photobucket
Ruba’iyat Mittens (Rav link) in my handspun. There is only one so far, I am ashamed to say.

The back of the hand.
Photobucket
The inside of the palm and the thumb.
Photobucket

The handspun was FiberOptics’ one-off Blue and Charcoal colorway, and colorway Agate from Ashland Bay Trading Company.

Right now, I am closing in on finishing the “One Row Handspun Scarf” that I started back in August (I know. Its shameful, really.), and I started a Drop Stitch Scarf out of some handspun I picked up at the Fiber Festival last month.

I promise more pictures of knitting stuff soon, and I also promise some super-cute kid pictures of Grace who was Tinkerbell for Halloween.

Be well, and I hope to be back here more often.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Yay for the positives and for being able to count them. Can’t wait to see you on Saturday!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jessica on November 5, 2009 at 1:39 PM

    I’m sorry you’ve had such a hard time this year. I’m glad things are looking up, hope they continue to do so. And, I LOVE that mitten! It’s beautiful! Can’t wait to see the pair. :-)

    Reply

  3. The mitten is fantastic, clearly. And I’d like to add that there is no shame in having one mitten :) Good for you for taking care of yourself.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

