The Very Important Post

The Very Important Post

Have you ever heard of Addison’s Disease? Chances are that you haven’t, unless you saw that episode of House in its third season.

It’s a rare disorder that isn’t very well understood. It affects the adrenal glands, which control the body’s response to stress. It is treatable but there is no cure and it can be lethal; I know this first hand.

My best friend, Andie Robbins, was diagnosed with Addison’s Disease in 2004. Meeting Andie was a pivotal point in my life, and our introduction changed the very course of my life. She would introduce me to my future-husband, the Society for Creative Anachronism, and helped me really begin to grow up.

In Spring of 2004, Andie wasn’t doing very well; her Addison’s was getting the best of her. When she caught a flu bug, the fever and vomiting kept her from being able to take her medications, and eventually, the stress of being ill sent her into shock. On April 29th, my best friend and sister of my heart passed away, two weeks before her 24th birthday.

It has been 4 years since we lost Andie. Her favorite color was purple, and as I knit the Shipwreck shawl, all throughout March, April, and May, all I could do was think of how much Andie would have liked the shawl. I committed to finishing the shawl before May 12th which would have been her 28th birthday, and I had intended to write this Very Important Post on that day.

As it turned out, the hurt I still feel over her loss made it to painful to write on her birthday. By the following week, I was submerged deeply in preparations for an SCA event; an event I came to know and love because Andie brought me to the SCA. The post was set on the back burner.

Last week, access to all blogs was taken away from my work, but strangely, some connectivity has been restored, so my very important post is late, but finally arriving.

So now the crux of it. I want to support the National Adrenal Disease Foundation, in honor of Andie, in memory of her loss, and for the hope that other sisters, mothers, fathers, brothers, and friends, will not have to attend the same kind of funeral I did, that May morning 4 years ago.

So I issue a challenge to all readers out there: go to the National Adrenal Disease Foundation’s website: http://www.nadf.us/. Read about Addison’s Disease and the other disorders there. Then find the fundraising page of the NADF site, and make a donation to NADF, any amount, and then enter a comment on this page. On Monday, June 15, 2009, at about Noon, I will choose, completely at random, a number, and the commenter matching that number will receive the Shipwreck Shawl.

If you read the YarnHarlot and are familiar with her Knitters Without Borders charity, I am setting this up to be similar.

Rules:
1. This is on your honor. I don’t need or want proof that you actually donated; if you cannot donate or do not want to, please don’t leave a comment saying you did.

2. Once you donate, make sure you leave at least an email address or blog address for me to find you with. If you win the shawl, I have to be able to get in contact with you.

3. There is no monetary limit; $1 is as good as $10, but if you can, be generous.

That is it. If I can get the support of other knitters, more “prizes” might be donated, but for now, it is as simple as this: this is a raffle where the prize is the Shipwreck Shawl I completed on Mothers Day; your raffle ticket is your donation to the NADF and you enter the raffle by commenting on this blog that you have made your donation.

Please spread this around to help.

Thank you so much for helping me spread awareness of Addison’s Disease and supporting the Foundation in its efforts to prevent deaths of people like Andie.

Shipwreck

Center Medallion

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Iseulte on June 3, 2009 at 7:23 PM

    I’ll start the ball rolling with a $10 donation. I can skip McDonalds breakfast for two days. Here’s my receipt code: https://checkout.google.com/view/receipt?t=401202771509290

    Reply

  2. Posted by Iseulte on June 3, 2009 at 7:26 PM

    Sorry it wasn’t in the name of the right person. I just clicked the “donate” button on the site.

    Reply

  3. I couldn’t get the online donation form to work, but a check is going in the mail tomorrow.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Dee Dee on June 17, 2009 at 12:34 PM

    I just wanted to let you know that I did donate… I just didn’t particularly want the shawl. I hope you got more responses than what’s here.

    Reply

  5. Posted by tam hiatt (Andie's mom) on July 10, 2009 at 4:00 PM

    I am speechless. Lovely to know that her friends are still thinking of her and missing her.

    Thank you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

