Accomplishment Is…

Accomplishment is…

Shipwreck

Across the beaded landscape…

Beads

I wish I could impart to you my sense of wonder. The weight of it is surprising; it is heavier than I thought it would be. Maybe because it has been intangible for so long. First it was an idea. It grew into the materials. The materials grew into a tangled web of knitting that looked vaguely like what I saw in Bethany’s pictures, but mostly like bag on knitting needles.

It never really occurred to me that I would actually have a finished product in my hands at some point, but I do.

Shawl

This feeling is so good, so deep, so satisfying, that I wish I could share it with you. I know it won’t last. Soon, I will be onto the next thing and I will be looking for that feeling to be renewed. I guess that makes me an addict; a junkie of sorts. But if I have to be addicted to something, then the feeling of creating something so beautiful with my own hands is a perfectly good thing to be addicted to.

Net

It is beautiful, but I don’t think it will be mine. I have written Bethany, the designer, and if she writes me back with an affirmative to my query, then it will certainly not be mine.

But until I have to part with it, you will be hard pressed to get it away from my side.

Have you ever seen anything so beautiful?

Shipwreck

I did it. I succeeded. It took uncounted hours, some cursing, one bout of tears, some prayers, some skill, and much patience, but it is finished at last.

I love this shawl for what it means to me more than for what it is.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Iseulte on May 11, 2009 at 2:51 PM

    So proud of you! I have yet to find the time to finish a project.

    Reply

  2. […] have some leftover yarn and beads from the Shipwreck shawl and I have a plan to knit a pretty, beaded, faggot lace scarf, just as simple as a border, and YO […]

    Reply

  3. […] It’s trouble and I know it to be so, because I’ve done it before. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

