Shipwrecked

It is hard to knit and type at the same time as I observed to my dear husband today. And I have been busy.

Remember the other day when I really really needed a little garter stitch to take the edge off?

The next day, I was gifted by the lovely Virag with two cakes of Noro Iro:

Noro

I finally got my hands on some Noro and to ease my sad little brain, I worked up this:

Noro Scarf

It is a simple garter stitch scarf knit on the bias to help showcase the awesome color change of the Noro. Now, as much as I love the scarf and its colors, I have to confess I am not head-over-heels in love with Noro. The yarn was mostly even, but had some really thick spots that not a real problem, but one appeared right in time for my edge and made the edge look a little weird. Second, there is a lot of vegetable matter in the yarn. I pulled a quarter inch twig out of the yarn at one point. Finally, it isn’t cozy against my skin thus far, but I have been promised by the interwebs that it will feel much nicer after a good hot, soapy soak. We shall see.

Still, I am happy enough knitting it. That is, when I am knitting on it.

Last night, my package of Clematis colored Palette Yarn from Knitpicks arrived. I was appalled when I opened it in the late night to find yarn that looked bronze/brown in the light of the bedroom. First, I thought they had sent me the wrong yarn, but it said Clematis on the side. I was devastated to see the color was so different than what my monitor showed. Then this morning, it looked bluey-green in the early morning light. Okay, that was a little different. Once it was under the florescent lights of my office, it showed up heavy on the purple-side.

Clematis Heather

Thus, I am in absolute love with this yarn. It changes color in the light. It will look spectacular with my iridescent beads. It is knitting like butter. It is $2.19 per 50 gram ball. I cannot say enough good things about this yarn.

So, despite my unfinished Noro scarf, despite the much loved Finnish Socks, which are 2/3rds of a cross from being ready for a toe to be put on the first sock, I cast on the long awaited <a href=”http://www.knitty.com/ISSUEspring09/PATTshipwreck.php”>Shipwreck Shawl

The beginning

My first confession is that I failed at the “Simple Ring Cast On.” I didn’t get it from the directions and after several attempts, I gave up and cast on longtail style. It was only 9 stitches which left almost no hole in the center, so I went on my merry way.

Sections 1-3 are just knitting and YO increases. Section 4 starts the Strawberry Motif.

Section 5 is where I am currently (almost through the first repeat of the Bleeding Heart motif). Six is the Madeira Pattern that looks like laurel leaves around the inner motifs, and then all faggot lace to the end.

Almost halfway through Section five and I am pretty much ready to switch from 3.5mm DPNs to 3.5mm circulars. I don’t mind working on crowded needles, but it is getting close to the edge of my 7 inch dpns and I could not abide losing stitches off the ends of my needles. I am going to get 2 US 4 circulars tonight in the appropriate lengths.

My second confession is that I changed one type of stitch throughout the pattern. The designer, a lovely lady from Raleigh, who I have no doubt is much smarter than myself and knows what she is doing, whereas I am pretty much throwing darts in the dark, chose to do double decreases with Knit3Tog stitches. First, I am knitting with my Clovers which are no where near pointy enough to make k3tog easy. Second, I really like the look of sl1k2togpasso, or otherwise referred to as the central double decrease. After testing it on the pattern, I liked that look, so I went with the central double decrease instead of k3tog. I hope she understands.

Shipwreck Start

So far, so good. Except for one oops, where I starting knitting on it upside-down and wound up with two purl rows on the right side accidentally (of course it was after I had increase to 72 stitches), so far, the pattern is remarkably clear, easy to follow, and just enough to make it fun and interesting without being a bear to knit.

So thanks for the gift of this shawl, Bethany. The pattern rules and therefore, in my world, so do you. I cannot wait to get some real progress made on it. More pictures shall be forthcoming.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Iseulte on March 20, 2009 at 5:20 PM

    So would the same yarn you’re using work for my shawl? I was looking at the garnet heather. With garnet beads – OMG!

    Reply

    • Posted by laruse on March 20, 2009 at 6:34 PM

      I *think* it will work, but it is a bit thicker (fingering weight instead of lace weight) than what Aeolian is calling for. You might want to go up a size or two in needles. With thicker yarn, you might have more trouble with the nupps, but that is the only potential problem I see.

      My thinking is this: get the yardage recommended for your shawl (I am guessing you are doing the shoulderette size?) which will cost you $6 to $8 and knit the swatch chart. I will bring you my circular 6 and 5 sized needles and you can try both and see which one gives you the gauge you prefer. If you need a 4, I dont have a circular right now, but I have straights you can try it on.

      Ultimately, if you dont like it, you have yarn for another lace project; you arent out a lot of money; and you have a better understanding of that pattern and what you need for it. No real loss.

      I will bring you needles tomorrow if you are going to be at TYDBB. I will be there later in the day (after 1pm).

  2. Posted by Iseulte on March 20, 2009 at 9:23 PM

    We’ll be there. Thanks for the support. I think I might be a bit out of my element here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

