What A Day On My Own Is Like

Holy crap!

The Munchkin is at Nana and Papa’s for the day. My beloved hubby is in Newport News for the day.

Since 8am, I have done dishes, mopped the floor, done laundry, driven around Midlothian for 90 minutes, accomplishing nothing but spending gas, planted lettuce and spinach in my short bed, started dinner (Shepard’s pie, ‘natch), and knit a 10-row repeat of this:

Steel Lace

I am curious if anyone can guess which pattern this is just looking at it.

The first picture is closer to the actual color of the yarn which is Jaggerspun Zephyr in Steel color.

I have planned this shawl for months. I saw it and I had to do it. I picked a color to go with the theme (to me) of the shawl, and finally, perhaps ill-timed, I cast on last night.

Of course first half of the sixth clue of the Vernal Equinox shawl comes out tomorrow (maybe tonight?) and it seems foolish to cast on ANOTHER shawl while so close to finishing the first, but that didn’t stop me. We ate dinner out and I came home sick as a dog from the nearby all-you-can-eat BBQ place. My best guess was an allergic reaction to something because no one else got sick and aside from GI distress, my face flushed and my ears turned bright red and burned. I felt like I was dying, just a little, and having finished the Broadripple socks, having spun all the fiber I have in the house, and not having the next pattern for Vernal Equinox, I desperately had to have something to knit. You understand. Right?

So I cast on and started knitting this diamond motif. That was when I realized my terrible mistake. This entire shawl has a diamond motif. Well, honestly, so does the Vernal Equinox shawl. Clue 5 of VE drove me to drink over knitting all of those little diamonds, and I hated having to “steal” stitches from neighboring repeats. Guess what this pattern is- all little diamonds all the time, and much “stealing” will commence now that I will be starting the second repeat (one down, thirteen to go). I am really worried that I am going to regret casting this shawl on while still in the midst of the Vernal Equinox shawl.

Anyway, the whole point of this post was to brag at how much I Have accomplished with most of a day to myself. Knitting, cleaning, cooking, gardening, driving, and blogging…and it’s only 3 pm.

Now to go swap laundry and check on dinner. Maybe even knit!

Although, I have to confess, I miss my little family now…you can come on home whenever, now, guys…

Leave a Reply

