It Really Does Help

My day has been a little stressful; and that is a bit of an understatement. I am not going to bring all of the challenges I have dealt with to you, My Blog, but I will just ask you to consider what a day that involves Social Security, my Federal Tax Return for 2007, and assisting in a take-over of a now defunct insurance company must be like and why knitting is so key to my peace of mind and the physical well being of others.

At 11 a.m., my designated knitting hour as I babysit our lobby/main phone, I was wound so tight, it took three or four rows of knitting away at a heel flap to get my hands to stop shaking. In that hour, I managed to rip back my original heel flap from last night after dropping a stitch on the first row and just zooming along without it, re-knit the flap, turn the heel, pick up and start my gusset. I am so grateful for my enforced work-break, especially today when I either needed knitting time or a valium.

I found myself dreaming of a weekend spent away. Dreaming not in the wilds of central North Carolina which is this weekend’s intended destination, but dreaming of the quiet beauty of Chincoteague, which is on Virginia’s Eastern Shore, if you are unfamiliar with the name.

We went a few years ago and spent Easter night in a hotel room with a pretty view of the water and wildlife. We had the run of the hotel with not another guest in the place. It was marvelous. I was saddened to learn that the hotel was taken over by Best Western. Times being as they are, I should not have been surprised.

The idea of sitting on that balcony, knitting, looking out over the marshes, watching for ospreys, herons, and egrets is still tremendously appealing.

By the way, a quick check indicates that Clue 5 of the Vernal Equinox shawl isn’t coming out until tomorrow. When she said it would be available Friday the Thirteenth, I was kind of hoping it would appear on Thursday the Twelfth in Eastern Standard Time. Ah well, I need to learn patience.

So, my gut feeling is that tomorrow will be a better day and that we will be traveling this weekend and it is going to be rainy and chilly and we will wish we stayed home.

I am never the optimist. That is why I have knitting.

Leave a Reply

