Quitters Never Win

I am working on a mystery shawl called the Vernal Equinox shawl from patterns produced by the very talented Lankakomero.

I couldn’t resist it even because just the name of it suggests Spring (which I am so very ready for), though I haven’t had a lot of experience with lace and I have never participated in a Knit-Along, and certainly never worked a mystery project before and it has proven to be the single most fun thing I have ever knit so far in my life.

Lacking anything resembling confidence in my abilities, I decided not to use the Jaggerspun Zephyr silk/merino laceweight blend I had in my stash but went with a cheap sport weight acrylic on 5.25 mm circulars. I am regretting this choice immensely now, but lack the intestinal fortitude to go back and start the shawl over with the much more worthy Zephyr.

Here is what it looked like after Clues 1 and 2 were complete. The red arrow marks roughly (actually just below) the location where you switch from Clue 1 to Clue 2.

Clue 1 and 2

Have I mentioned yet that I have a Blue problem?

Here is Clue 3 with my had next to one of the diamonds for scale:

Photobucket

To say this shawl will be big is an understatement. I think a Clydesdale could probably use this as a warm blanket by the time it will be finished. If I had done it in laceweight and on appropriate needles, I am sure it would have been fine.

Clue 4 is a short little 10 row chart, repeated 4 times. Its easy-peasy and its pretty, but it is 39 repeats worked over rows ranging in width from 245 stitches to 325 stitches. I am no longer the world’s slowest knitter (though I was once), but I am no SpeedStick either. Even just purling the wrong side rows when they are 325 stitches takes me a bit of time. Oh, say…45 minutes.

I have completed 2 of the 4 repeats and I am in the bargaining stage. Kimmie, you can drink beer if you knit just one right and wrong side set. Beer loses its allure after a while, so then I mock myself. “Do you want to be the one lamer who wont repeat this all 4 times? They will all know when you post the pictures that you lacked the awesome that they all had to finish all 4 repeats.”

When even being thought of as a coward by internet strangers starts gaining more appeal than knitting another repeat of yo, skp, k1, k2tog, yo, sl1 k2tog psso, then I know it’s time to put the shawl down and knit a sock.

Last night, it got to the point where I preferred to totally rip out a sock that I was down to grafting the toe together than knit on my shawl anymore. I think I gave Byram apoplexy as he held the sock (his sock) while I pulled and wound the yarn into a ball. There is already an inch of new sock in 1×1 rib on the needles to start that one over.

Every morning, I get up and stuff the Vernal shawl back into its bag and swear I will not be beaten by this measly repeat. I am half way there! Quitters never win and knitters never quit.

Or do they? I am only half way there in 5 days.

Yeesh.

One response to this post.

  1. Hi, I love your shawl. Keep up with the repeats, you can do it! I spent last night searching for a shawl pattern to knit for a wedding. Looking for something somewhat simple. Lace knitting and I are sometimes not a good match, lol!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

